The Godly Man’s Picture

I have recently started reading the book, The Godly Man’s Picture. The book was written by Thomas Watson (1620-1686), an English pastor, theologian, and “nonconformist” to the Church of England. The book was originally published in 1666 and is considered by many to be a Puritan classic.

There are two reasons I have begun reading The Godly Man’s Picture. The first is that I want to become better acquainted with the Puritan age, Puritan pastors and theologians, and Puritan sermons and writings. I believe that reading Thomas Watson is a good place to begin. After all, Charles H. Spurgeon thought very highly of Watson.

The second reason that I am reading the book is because I believe the Lord will use it in my life as I seek to be a more godly man, husband, and father.

I intend to read a portion of Watson’s book each morning as a part of my daily devotion. As I read I will post quotes that strike my attention and stir my heart. Posts may or may not include commentary and reflection.

I read Watson’s introduction to the book and the first chapter this morning. Following are several quotes that the Lord drew my attention to and that I thought about throughout the day.

******************

“What a rare thing godliness is.” (p.7)

“Christian, aspire after piety; it is a lawful ambition. Look at the saints’ characteristics here, and never leave off till you have got them stamped upon your own soul.” (p.9)

 ” … true happiness consists; not in beauty, honour, riches (the world’s trinity), but in the forgiveness of sin.” (p.9)

” … pardon does not arise from anything inherent in us, but is the pure result of free grace (charis).” (p.9)

“Pardon of sin is a fine thread, spun out of the heart of free grace.” (p.9)

********************

To read a short biographical sketch of Thomas Watson and Charles H Spurgeon’s “Brief Memoir of Thomas Watson,” read here.

(Note: The characteristics that Watson refers to in the second quote are those that he writes about in his book.)

You can view The Godly Man’s Picture here.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Bible, Books, Reformed Theology, Sermons

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

