New Korean Bible Study

In August I received an email from an old friend that I hadn’t seen or visited with for quite some time. He is a professor at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas and served as one of the lead elders at a Korean congregation in the area that I used to facilitate Bible studies with and for from 1997-2005.

I lost contact with the church when my family and I moved out-of-town for a year for medical reasons. Since our return to the Texas A&M area in May 2006 our international student ministry has focused more on students from the People’s Republic of China and we never re-connected with the Korean congregation.

The elder emailed me to inform that he and several others from the church mentioned above had started a new church. The new congregation meets in close proximity to the university and is currently attended by thirty-five (35) people. He told me that several students in the church wanted to study the Bible in English and asked if I was leading any small groups that involved Korean students. I told him that I was facilitating one Bible study with Chinese and would be blessed to be a part of a new Korean group.

The elder hesitated to accept my offer to lead a new group, saying that he knew that my schedule was very busy. I accepted his decision but was pretty disappointed.

Then, last week I received another email from the elder. He asked if I was still open to facilitating an English language Bible study with students from the new church. I responded positively. Shortly after my reply, I received an invitation to attend worship services at the church this coming Sunday and meet the students who have expressed a desire for a small group.

At this point there are two single men and two couples who have committed to be a part of this new group. Two other students have expressed interest but have yet to commit themselves.

The small group will meet either Tuesday or Thursday evenings of each week.

I’m excited and thankful to the Lord for this opportunity to become involved with the Korean community again. My experiences with the Korean church in the past were a tremendous blessing. The church and its members have a burden for the evangelism of the unsaved and cross-cultural missions that is infectious.

Please pray for the new church and for all of us who are going to be involved in this new mid-week Bible study… that the Lord will knit us together in friendship, open our hearts to His Word, draw people to faith in Christ, and thrust us out as laborers into the harvest of  “nations” who are enrolled at Texas A&M.

~ reach students … disciple the “nations” ~

Explore posts in the same categories: Bible, International Student Ministry, Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

