Missional Living … Simply Put

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post entitled “Missional Living (Def.)”  In the post I included two definitions of missional living; one by Floyd McClung , the other by Ed Stetzer.

Well, I have just started working through The Tangible Kingdom Primer that was sent to me by the Missio missions ministry and I have found a very short and succinct definition of missional life that I really like.

On Day 1 of the first week of the workbook, Halter and Smay, the authors of the Primer, define missional living as,

the decision to offer to God our plans in exchange for His plans.”

To me this simply means the total and unreserved surrender of all of my life – my plans for family and ministry, my dreams and aspirations for the future – to the Lord’s will, purposes, and leadership … to His plans for and use of me for the accomplishment of His will, the receiving of glory in all things, and the expansion of His Kingdom on this earth.

Missional living means openness to and involvement with people – intentional, genuine and purposeful engagement with people – for the sake of the Gospel and the Kingdom.

With this exchange comes the confidence of His provision for personal, family and ministry needs and freedom from the grip of fear and concern over the unknown that often keeps me from complete trust and surrender.

Jesus said, “As the Father has sent Me, so I send you.”

Where does He send me?

Into life.

Explore posts in the same categories: Church Planting, Missional Living, Neighborhoods, Prayer, Simple Church

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

