A Reasonable Response

As I have begun the “Blogging Through the Institutes” study with Reformation21, I have also begun re-reading a book that I have had on my bookshelf since 2004. It is entitled Grace and its Fruits – Selections from John Calvin On The Pastoral Epistles. It was prepared by Joseph Hill of Geneva College in Pennsylvania and published by Evangelical Press.

In the introduction to the book, Hill says of Calvin that

His conversion and subsequent commitment to the service of God are aptly represented by an emblem which he used as a signet: an extended hand holding a heart aflame, encircled by the words: ‘I offer my heart to You, Lord, promptly and sincerely.’ “

I am very drawn to the last three words of Calvin’s commitment statement for life and ministry – “promptly and sincerely.” Drawn to them because that is how I know the Lord wants me to respond to Him … words that I desire and pray that my life will be characterized by:

  • Prompt – in obedience to God’s every Word
  • Sincerein love for and commitment to my Savior and Master in every area of my life and in every relationship that I have

When I read Calvin’s statement, several verses to come to my mind:

“And this I say for your own benefit; not to put a restraint upon you, but to promote what is seemly, and to secure undistracted devotion to the Lord.” I Corinthians 7:35

“For our proud confidence is this, the testimony of our conscience, that in holiness and godly sincerity, not is fleshly wisdom but in the grace of God, we have conducted ourselves in the world, and especially toward you.” II Corinthians 1:12

“But I am afraid, lest as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, your minds should be led astray from the simplicity and purity of devotion to Christ.” II Corinthians 11:3

In a world of busyness, competing philosophies and religions, customs and traditions (much like the world in which the Corinthians and Calvin lived), may we remain simply and steadfastly committed to God and His Word, and to yielding and responding to His leadership in our lives, promptly and with sincerity of heart, for His glory.

Explore posts in the same categories: Bible, Missional Living, Prayer, Reformation, Reformed Theology, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

